RouteConverter Forum

Full Version: Snapping
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi 

I plan routes for Classic Car Tours in the UK and France. I set the profile to Car Driving mode.

I can set the Waypoints just after each significant junction and convert them into a Route. If it doesn't show the correct route, I go to the preceding Waypoint and add [ + ] an intermediate Waypoint to correct the error.  It is placed in a random location which I then have to ' drag and drop '  onto the required route. However, it would be good to CLICK on the initial route to create an intermediate waypoint and drag it to the correct route. Is that possible now ?

When I have a route, I get small spurs off the route which I then have to ' drag and drop ' onto the required route. In the Driving mode, it would be good for the software to " SNAP " onto the " road centreline " data close by. Snapping is a process that I am familiar with in other similar older programmes. Is that possible now ?

When I come to save the route on the screen with a small number of Waypoints, I save it to a very small .GPX file. I then upload it to OSMAND Plus to use as the Satnav in the car.  Sometimes the interpretation of the route changes between the Waypoints, which can be very annoying. Once I have set the correct route, I would like the programme to interpolate between my Waypoint to give me a more reliable ' Route ' to follow.

I have tried to convert it to Track and back to Route. The programme gets very confused. Is there a better way to get a more reliable .GPX track with sufficient waypoints to describe the correct route ?

For reasons that I can't explain, the route data sometimes decides to retrace part of the route and back again, which clears after I have driven beyond that section.

I have just returned from a five day 1800 mile Tour in my 1972 SAAB 99. It was a fun route in the Alsace region. Following the route did get a little frustrating at times.

I wish to get the best out of the ' Route Converter ' programme and find all the ' Tricks and Tips ' to make my job easier.

Maybe you can refer me to an experienced User with relevant knowledge who can help me improve my understanding of the Route Converter programme.

John Broughall  - Hampshire UK
Hi...

Regarding your 1st question:
Press down the CTRL button on the keyboard and click with left mouse button to a specific point on the map. See what happens. Then mark a specific line in the position list, do the CTRL + LMB thing again and see what happens.
(21.11.2022, 10:57)JohnBroughall Wrote: [ -> ]When I come to save the route on the screen with a small number of Waypoints, I save it to a very small .GPX file. I then upload it to OSMAND Plus to use as the Satnav in the car.  Sometimes the interpretation of the route changes between the Waypoints, which can be very annoying. Once I have set the correct route, I would like the programme to interpolate between my Waypoint to give me a more reliable ' Route ' to follow.

Hi John,

different route interpretations of the planning programme and the navigation programme is a common problem.

Osmand+ can navigate tracks (AFAIK better than routes), so you might want to try this:

- Adjust your route to your liking
- Menu -> Postion List -> Convert Route to Track
- Menu -> Position -> All redundant positions within a threshold of 20 metres -> Mark -> Delete marked positions
- Right click in the Position List -> Export to file -> ....
- Upload gpx file to Osmand+

HTH.
(21.11.2022, 13:19)nordlicht Wrote: [ -> ]
(21.11.2022, 10:57)JohnBroughall Wrote: [ -> ]When I come to save the route on the screen with a small number of Waypoints, I save it to a very small .GPX file. I then upload it to OSMAND Plus to use as the Satnav in the car.  Sometimes the interpretation of the route changes between the Waypoints, which can be very annoying. Once I have set the correct route, I would like the programme to interpolate between my Waypoint to give me a more reliable ' Route ' to follow.

Hi John,

different route interpretations of the planning programme and the navigation programme is a common problem.

Osmand+ can navigate tracks (AFAIK better than routes), so you might want to try this:

- Adjust your route to your liking
- Menu -> Postion List -> Convert Route to Track
- Menu -> Position -> All redundant positions within a threshold of 20 metres -> Mark -> Delete marked positions
- Right click in the Position List -> Export to file -> ....
- Upload gpx file to Osmand+

HTH.

Hi

Thank you. I have worked through your suggestion.

I am not sure how to Save the .GPX Track file. As far as I can see, I could save it as " CompeGPX Data Track  - .TRK.   Is that the way to go ?  ?

I am still left with ' Spurs ' on the Route which I would like to ' straight line '.

Are you saying that there is no way to get the Waypoints to Snap to the Road Centre Line data and avoid the Spurs ?  ?

I am sorry to be a pain.

John B 
(21.11.2022, 16:07)JohnBroughall Wrote: [ -> ]I am not sure how to Save the .GPX Track file. As far as I can see, I could save it as " CompeGPX Data Track  - .TRK.   Is that the way to go ?

No. For Osmand you have to choose "save as GPX1.1", if the position list is set to "Track" RouteConverter will save it as a track in the GPX file.

(21.11.2022, 16:07)JohnBroughall Wrote: [ -> ]I am still left with ' Spurs ' on the Route which I would like to ' straight line '.

Are you saying that there is no way to get the Waypoints to Snap to the Road Centre Line data and avoid the Spurs ?

Afaik no. I zoom in as much as possible and move the point to the side or lane of the road where I want it. The spurs are irrelevant as long as the distance to the road is small enough to be inside the capture range of the routing engine. Automatic centering can also cause funny routings on dual carriageways sometimes.
(21.11.2022, 10:57)JohnBroughall Wrote: [ -> ]When I have a route, I get small spurs off the route which I then have to ' drag and drop ' onto the required route. In the Driving mode, it would be good for the software to " SNAP " onto the " road centreline " data close by. Snapping is a process that I am familiar with in other similar older programmes. Is that possible now ?

No, the routing engines GraphHopper 0.13 and BRouter 1.6.1 which I'm using don't offer an API for it.
There Map Matching API for GraphHopper but it's only available as a chargeable service.

(21.11.2022, 10:57)JohnBroughall Wrote: [ -> ]I have tried to convert it to Track and back to Route. The programme gets very confused. Is there a better way to get a more reliable .GPX track with sufficient waypoints to describe the correct route ?

Convert to Track is the most simple option. Insert intermediate positions offers a bit more functionality depending on the routing engine. You need to try.