RouteConverter Forum
Openstreetmap not working - Printable Version

+- RouteConverter Forum (https://forum.routeconverter.com)
+-- Forum: Users (https://forum.routeconverter.com/forum-17.html)
+--- Forum: English: Discussions (https://forum.routeconverter.com/forum-12.html)
+--- Thread: Openstreetmap not working (/thread-2469.html)

Pages: 1 2


Openstreetmap not working - Maarten - 24.03.2018

I have 2.22.1. All maps work, but openstreetmap does not. I read a thread in the german forum that it might be blocked, or low priority, but everything else I do with OSM (www.openstreetmap or editing OSM in JOSM) always gives me a map.
In routeconverter it just does nothing, the last chosen map stays visible. It does not even seem to try to load tiles.


RE: Openstreetmap not working - routeconverter - 28.03.2018

(24.03.2018, 13:34)Maarten Wrote: In routeconverter it just does nothing, the last chosen map stays visible. It does not even seem to try to load tiles.

Here it works fine.


RE: Openstreetmap not working - janwalker - 10.05.2018

(28.03.2018, 19:43)routeconverter Wrote:
(24.03.2018, 13:34)Maarten Wrote: In routeconverter it just does nothing, the last chosen map stays visible. It does not even seem to try to load tiles.

Here it works fine.

Same problem as Maarten has: all maptypes in RC work fine, except for OSM. First time loading of OSM (after starting RC) is no problem, but  changing between OSM and other map-types seems to block OSM from reloading (structuraly).


RE: Openstreetmap not working - routeconverter - 11.05.2018

I've tried to reproduce this here, but failed: I could change back and forth between OSM and Google maps without problems.

Could you provide a video that shows the problem?


RE: Openstreetmap not working - janwalker - 11.05.2018

(11.05.2018, 13:22)routeconverter Wrote: I've tried to reproduce this here, but failed: I could change back and forth between OSM and Google maps without problems.

Could you provide a video that shows the problem?

Thanks for the reply! I made a 3 minutes-video about the problem. I noticed (for the first time) an OSM-message about 'rendering'. Maybe rendering takes an incredible lot of time with elder PC's, but with a Core i7 inside  and 16G of internal memory...I think it's really strange. Other map-types don't have this problem at all...
You can watch the video on https://youtu.be/qX1r1W6sOTg 


RE: Openstreetmap not working - routeconverter - 12.05.2018

(11.05.2018, 20:48)janwalker Wrote: I think it's really strange. Other map-types don't have this problem at all...
You can watch the video on https://youtu.be/qX1r1W6sOTg 

Dear Jan,

thank you very much for the video. In fact the tile server that your RouteConverter tries to connect doesn't deliver any tiles at all. It should look like in this video.

Please check the file %USER_PROFILE%\.routeconverter\tileserver\default.xml 
It should contain a section

Code:
<tileServer id="OpenStreetMap" name="OpenStreetMap rendering of OpenStreetMap data" minZoom="1" maxZoom="19" copyright="OpenStreetMap">
    "http://" + getOpenStreetMapServerIndex() + ".tile.openstreetmap.org/" + zoom + "/" + coordinates.x + "/" + coordinates.y + ".png"
</tileServer>

at the top.

If that's available, the go to openstreetmap.org inside a web browser and check with the developer tools from while URL tiles are loaded. Here it's a.tile.openstreetmap.org:

[Image: uc?export=view&id=1iYfb8D99mQ39fUv1S-lA_gVuVcpdBVD0]


RE: Openstreetmap not working - janwalker - 14.05.2018

(12.05.2018, 07:33)routeconverter Wrote:
(11.05.2018, 20:48)jan walker Wrote: I think it's really strange. Other map-types don't have this problem at all...
You can watch the video on https://youtu.be/qX1r1W6sOTg 

Dear Jan,

thank you very much for the video. In fact the tile server that your RouteConverter tries to connect doesn't deliver any tiles at all. It should look like in this video.

Please check the file %USER_PROFILE%\.routeconverter\tileserver\default.xml 
It should contain a section

Code:
<tileServer id="OpenStreetMap" name="OpenStreetMap rendering of OpenStreetMap data" minZoom="1" maxZoom="19" copyright="OpenStreetMap">
    "http://" + getOpenStreetMapServerIndex() + ".tile.openstreetmap.org/" + zoom + "/" + coordinates.x + "/" + coordinates.y + ".png"
</tileServer>

at the top.

If that's available, the go to openstreetmap.org inside a web browser and check with the developer tools from while URL tiles are loaded. Here it's a.tile.openstreetmap.org:

[Image: uc?export=view&id=1iYfb8D99mQ39fUv1S-lA_gVuVcpdBVD0]



RE: Openstreetmap not working - janwalker - 14.05.2018

Hmm, I'm growing older, posting an empty reply (wrong button). Sorry for that.

Dear Christian,
Thanks again for your reply. I did follow your advice and here are the results:
  • in my Windows 8.1. the tileserver location of OSM was C:\Users\win 8\.routeconverter\tileservers\default.xml
  • I checked it, and noticed nothing was wrong (screenshot)
  • I opened openstreetmap.org within browser (Chrome) + developer tools; result was the same as on your screenshot (only tile 7/62/43 was referring to the south of England) (screenshot)
  • I downloaded Routeconverter 2.23.3 in the offline version: OSM worked fine (but without option for other map-types)
  • on my laptop (W10) still working with Routeconverter 2.22, OSM was without any problem...
Is any new action expected from me, now that we've checked all this?


RE: Openstreetmap not working - janwalker - 14.05.2018

In addition to my last post, I found something pretty remarkable: using Routeconverter 2.22 in combination with the old Eclipse SWT (not supported anymore) resulted in OSM working flawlessly again...(normally I use the Java 152 JDK, because of bugs in more recent releases)


RE: Openstreetmap not working - routeconverter - 14.05.2018

That is an interesting observation. The Eclipse SWT map implementation fires up the Windows WebBrowser Control internally while the JavaFX-based map uses a WebKit engine.

It's not the WebKit engine itself since the map is working for other non-Google tile servers.

It's not your ISP or IP-address being blocked since it works with Chrome.

So it has to be something with the way performs the GET requests for the map.

It could be that openstreetmap.org blocks requests from the WebKit engine. Or an antivirus/firewall something on your machine. Did you check that?