RouteConverter Forum
speed field always displayed empty - Printable Version

+- RouteConverter Forum (https://forum.routeconverter.com)
+-- Forum: Users (https://forum.routeconverter.com/forum-17.html)
+--- Forum: English: Discussions (https://forum.routeconverter.com/forum-12.html)
+--- Thread: speed field always displayed empty (/thread-3453.html)



speed field always displayed empty - Chibiberu - 27.11.2021

I am totally new to Route Converter.
I just started using this app and I noticed that the speed field always remains empty, even when obviously not empty.
Is there some option I need to change? Is this a bug?

Tested with RouteConverter OpenSource Edition 2.30.2 and RouteConverter OpenSource Edition 2.31
on MacOS 12.0.1

GPX files generated by the Speedometer55 Pro (www.blocoware.com) app on iOS 12.5.5


RE: speed field always displayed empty - kumo - 27.11.2021

Hi and welcome here Wink

Speeds are obviously stored in your file but I have no clue why RouteConverter does not decode the speed tags.
Christian may require your original file instead of a screenshot to look into it.

But time stamps are recorded and stored in your file and RouteConverter has some abilities...

The following screenshots are from a Windows 10 PC. MAC behaviour should be similar.

A *.gpx file with time stamps but no speed:

   

Mark positions in the position list:

   

Choice one: Right mouse click -> a context menu pops up

   

RouteConverter calculates the average speed between the trackpoints:

   

Don't forget to save the result on PC when you are pleased with it.

Choice two: Menu 'Position'

   


RE: speed field always displayed empty - routeconverter - 27.11.2021

(27.11.2021, 04:53)Chibiberu Wrote: I just started using this app and I noticed that the speed field always remains empty, even when obviously not empty.

It could be two options:
  • Speedometer55 Pro doesn't create valid GPX 1.0
  • Or it creates GPX 1.1 and since that doesn't support speed, Speedometer55 Pro creates a new proprietary way to include speed information that RouteConverter doesn't understand yet
I need to have a look at the files to analyze more.


RE: speed field always displayed empty - routeconverter - 27.11.2021

My first analysis: Speedometer55 Pro refers to Garmins Trackpoint Extension version 1 https://www8.garmin.com/xmlschemas/TrackPointExtensionv1.xsd which doesn't support speed but it writes speed information like defined in Garmins Trackpoint Extension version 2 https://www8.garmin.com/xmlschemas/TrackPointExtensionv2.xsd

And to make it weirder, it writes <speed> elements like in GPX 1.0 but claims the schema to be GPX 1.1 – where <speed> unfortunately doesn't exist.

Argh!

Please send me the file to verify this assumption.